I’m frequently asked this question for a good reason. Chocolate can be confusing. How’s it made What’s it in? Does all chocolate contain milk?
Before I went vegan, milk chocolate was the only chocolate in my life. If you’re a (reformed) sweet tooth like me, the mere mention of chocolate might conjure up thoughts of Hershey’s Kisses or melty Hershey’s bars and toasted marshmallows sandwiched between graham crackers (s’mores!) instead of something on the opposite end of the spectrum, like bitter 70% dark chocolate.
Unlike dark chocolate which consists of straight up cocoa powder, cocoa butter, and minimal sugar, milk chocolate is chock-full of milk and sugar. These make the chocolate lighter, sweeter, and more palatable. Perhaps this is why milk chocolate is more popular with chocoholics (at least in the States).
Fortunately for us vegans, we have other types of chocolate to choose from!…